Home > CDs / DVDs / Vinyl > Digital & Vinyl Discs >

Arctic Monkeys - AM (LP, Vinyl)
Arctic Monkeys - AM (LP, Vinyl)

Alternative Views:

Our Price: $21.98

Quantity in Stock:30

Product Code: DOMI80317.1

Description Technical Specs Extended Information
Limited 180 gram vinyl LP pressing including digital download. 2013 release, the fifth album from the British Alt-Rock band. AM was produced by James Ford and co-produced by Ross Orton at Sage & Sound Recording, LA and Rancho de la Luna, Joshua Tree. The album was engineered by Ian Shea and mixed by Tchad Blake. Josh Homme, Pete Thomas and Bill Ryder-Jones all make guest appearances on AM as do the words of John Cooper Clarke, on the track "I Wanna Be Yours."
If Arctic Monkeys launched a tentative retreat on Suck It & See, their first effort after being seduced by Josh Homme, the group once again forge ahead into bold new territory on AM, their fifth album. Neatly splitting the difference between the band's two personalities -- the devotees of barbed British pop and disciples of curdled heavy rock -- AM consolidates Arctic Monkeys strengths, a tricky task in and of itself, but the band pushes further, incorporating unapologetic glam stomps, fuzzy guitars, and a decidedly strong rhythmic undercurrent. At times, AM pulses to a distinctly danceable rhythm -- "Fireplace" percolates while "Why Do You Only Call Me When You're High" simmers and "Knee Socks" nearly rivals Franz Ferdinand in disco rock -- but this isn't an album made for nights out; it's a soundtrack for nights in. Too much of Alex Turner's mind is preoccupied with love gone wrong, jealousy, and general misanthropy, so even when he's singing about a "No. 1 Party Anthem," he's doing so with a nearly visible sneer. Such an undercurrent of cynicism makes AM an ideal album to listen to under the cover of darkness, but due to the Arctic Monkeys' muscular wallop and musical restlessness, it never feels like the band is wallowing in bleakness. Instead, this is vibrant, moody music that showcases a band growing ever stronger with each risk and dare they take.

- AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Backing Vocals – Josh Homme (tracks: A3, B5) Co-producer – Ross Orton (tracks: A1, A2), Ross Orton (tracks: A3 to A6, B2 to B6) Design – Alex Turner, Matthew Cooper (2) Engineer – Ian Shea (tracks: A1, A3 to B6) Keyboards – James Ford (tracks: A3, A6 to B6) Lacquer Cut By – CB* Management – Geoff Barradale, Ian McAndrew Mastered By – Brian Lucey Mastered By [LP Mastering] – Chris Bellman Mixed By – Tchad Blake Percussion – Pete Thomas (tracks: B1) Photography By – Zackery Michael Producer – James Ford (tracks: A1, A3 to B6) Words By – Alan Smyth (tracks: B1), Alex Turner (tracks: A1-B5), John Cooper Clarke (tracks: B6)
  • Label: Domino
  • Release Date: 9/10/2013
  • Genre: Alternative Rock
  • UPC: 887828031719
  • Product ID: DOMI80317.1
  • Weight: .7 lb
  • Last Return Date: 9/10/2013

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »